Skip to Main Content
Close Icon

Main Menu

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, Enter to select.
Your order may take longer than normal to arrive, and some products may be unavailable. We are working hard to overcome supply-chain issues and freight-carrier delays. Learn more.

Customer Ratings & Reviews

SEVERE GEAR® 80W-90

Product code : AGLQT-EA

4.9 star rating Read 67 reviews

Customer Rating

4.9

96% would recommend

  • 5 62
  • 4 5
  • 3 0
  • 2 0
  • 1 0

SEVERE GEAR® 80W-90

4.9 star rating Based on 67 reviews
  • 5 star rating
    Great, as usual
    By  JUSTIN D,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Hinesburg, VT  on  August 12, 2021
    I purchased this to put in my brush hog gear case. What a difference! The stock oil would vent out, and the gear case would be hot to the touch after using for an hour or so. Once I put the Amsoil severe gear in, I brush hogged for 8 hours, and you could hold your hand on the gear case. That is amazing!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Severe gear
    By  VINCENT,  a  Verified Buyer  from  NY  on  August 11, 2021
    Amsoil member for years. Great product.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Cooler and smoother
    By  RAY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Toledo Ohio   on  July 31, 2021
    Gears and bearings run cooler,quieter and smoother. It stops almost all friction and stress on gear surfaces also dissolves sludge and varnish from old lube.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 4 star rating
    Severe gear
    By  Richard,  a  Verified Buyer  from  PA  on  July 29, 2021
    Use only amsoil products in all my vehicles and tractor's.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Outstanding Gear Lube
    By  Simon,  a  Verified Buyer  on  July 19, 2021
    I flushed the rear differential fluid for a friend, and he immediately noticed how smoothly the Amsoil gear lube flowed compared to petroleum-based gear lube. The physical properties of the signature series lubricants are far superior to petroleum based. Note: Recommend not using "Severe Service" gear lube in manual transmissions as it may interfere with proper function of the synchronizers. For manual transmission, regular Signature series gear lube should work superbly. (Fyi, I'm an experimental physicist, and have been using Amsoil products for over 40 years.)
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Excellent Gear Lube For Rear Limited Slip Differential
    By  Rob,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Pueblo, CO, United States  on  June 29, 2021
    The AMSOIL SEVERE GEAR® 80W-90 was the perfect synthetic product for my 2002 Tundra’s rear limited slip differential. I did some heavy towing on a 1,600 mile trip with no problems.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    its gotta be good, its Amsoil.
    By  CARL,  a  Verified Buyer  on  May 29, 2021
    It should last in my Diff and T case longer than I do.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    would not use any thing else
    By  ROBERT,  a  Verified Buyer  on  May 24, 2021
    amsoil is the best
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Amsoil gear oil.
    By  ALBERT,  a  Verified Buyer  from  South Carolina   on  May 21, 2021
    I purchased the bags of my recommended gear oil which worked well for the rear differential. Next time I will still order Amsoil, but the way my transfer case is set up on my Toyota. I will order the quart bottles for that particular application. Definitely easier to pump it in with everything that was in the way. Highlander is running very smoothly with the amsoil. I was even able to use the pump on the squeeze bottle, just couldn’t get all of it out. Definitely will be a return customer.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great Product Great Service
    By  MARK,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Steens, MS  on  May 21, 2021
    I've always used Amsoil products in my tractors and atvs because I trust these are the best lubricants money can buy. I can place an order and have the product on my doorstep in a few days. These people are great!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    What I needed
    By  Chase,  a  Verified Buyer  from  CA  on  April 30, 2021
    I have a G80 Eaton Locker and this is exactly what I needed for it.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    A soil severe gear oil sae 80-90
    By  HeeHaw,  a  Verified Buyer  on  April 28, 2021
    Good diff gear oil!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Awesome
    By  CHRISTOPHER,  a  Verified Buyer  on  April 25, 2021
    Simply the best. Exactly what my car needed. Running smooth and quietly
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Nothing but the best
    By  MATTHEW,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Michigan  on  April 20, 2021
    I’ve recently made the switch to ams oil in my 2015 Silverado after conducting several stress and wear test of my own in our shop I was so impressed with the wear properties of ams oil that I’m going to use it in all our equipment around the farm as well as our personal vehicles
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 4 star rating
    Used in 09 Ranger with 7.5 Rear
    By  JASON,  a  Verified Buyer  on  April 09, 2021
    I am using Amsoil in this truck since recently purchasing it. Once I change the fluid again and have it analyzed I will know for sure if it was worth the money. 4 stars because of this. I do think from what I have read that Amsoil is a superior product, but I will not know until I use it for a few years.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great product
    By  COY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Mcallen Tx   on  April 03, 2021
    Awesome product ., use it on my gear box of my Aeromomemtum Engine
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great Product
    By  STEPHEN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Tennessee  on  March 30, 2021
    This product does what I need and appears to be exceptional.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Perfect for HD applications
    By  DEAN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Virginia   on  February 21, 2021
    This is the 2nd rear axle fluid change I have done. 50k of towing and daily driving did not seem to phase this lube. No cooked smell, no sludge. Works well without the additional friction modifier.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Cool Running
    By  LARRY,  a  Verified Buyer  on  February 13, 2021
    This product keeps the differential cool!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Fresh axle builds
    By  VICTOR,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Temple, GA  on  February 12, 2021
    Fresh axle build for a bronco project. The 9” and D44 both got the good stuff. I’ll see how they look in 500 miles.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?