Skip to Main Content
Close Icon

Main Menu

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, Enter to select.
Your order may take longer than normal to arrive, and some products may be unavailable. We are working hard to overcome supply-chain issues and freight-carrier delays. Learn more.

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Z-ROD® 20W-50 Synthetic Motor Oil

Product code : ZRFQT-EA

4.9 star rating Read 63 reviews

Customer Rating

4.9

79% would recommend

  • 5 59
  • 4 4
  • 3 0
  • 2 0
  • 1 0

Z-ROD® 20W-50 Synthetic Motor Oil

4.9 star rating Based on 63 reviews
  • 5 star rating
    Z-Rod
    By  NATE,  a  Verified Buyer  from  orlando  on  May 17, 2022
    works great to keep my 390FE running smoothly in the FLA heat
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Engine Runs Cooler w/ Better Oil Pressure
    By  THOMAS,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Brier Washington  on  May 13, 2022
    AMSOIL Z-Rod 20W-50 allows my 406 blown engine to run smoother, cooler and with better oil pressure. I will now only use this oil in this engine. This engine is used a 41 Willys street rod. The engine now idles better and I feel is a more healthier oil to use in this performance engine.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    old nailhead
    By  MIKE,  a  Verified Buyer  from  chico  on  March 29, 2022
    best oil for me. need to know what oil to use in my 1980 triumph t140egear box , 5sp?
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    z-rod 20w-50
    By  ARTHUR,  a  Verified Buyer  on  December 29, 2021
    Just the perfect oil for my old flathead V/8 Ford. Great engine protection!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Zrod 20/50
    By  THOMAS,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Long Island NY  on  December 27, 2021
    Very convenient, don’t have to mix any additives, it’s all in there for my 64 Thunderbird!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Comparison tests
    By  LYNN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Washington state  on  October 16, 2021
    I’ve watched a lot of oil test on YouTube and ams oil beat every other brand tested, some by a large margin- volitility, lubricity,cold flow, etc. Fast delivery was a plus.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great for classics
    By  JOSHUA,  a  Verified Buyer  from  St Augustine   on  September 27, 2021
    I noticed right away as soon I poured this in my truck even the color of it yells quality I’m very satisfied with it so far and I recommend
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Z-Rod 20w-50
    By  JODY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Gainesville FL  on  September 14, 2021
    I have used Z-Rod 20W-50 in my 383 Stroker motor since 2014. This engine is on my Airboat and will often get run very hard for extended periods of time. The motor runs fantastic and does not use any oil. I would highly recommend this oil.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Classic car oil
    By  DAN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Sauk Centre   on  September 14, 2021
    Ordered the oil for my Classic Car within 2 days I had received it already. Definitely will order again
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    20W-50 ZROD
    By  ALEX,  a  Verified Buyer  on  September 07, 2021
    First time using this oil and I'm glad I discovered this AMSOIL product. My Range Rover has a Rover V8 that really needs the Zinc additive to prevent excess wear. This seems to be doing the trick. I pulled the dipstick 1500 miles in and the oil still looks fresh and clear with only a slight darkening. I believe this is going to be my go to oil from now on!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great for the 440
    By  Grant,  a  Verified Buyer  on  September 07, 2021
    Old big block loves it.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    1966 401 nailhead engine
    By  MIKE,  a  Verified Buyer  from  chico ca  on  September 04, 2021
    best oil for my GS skylark
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Z-Rod 20w50
    By  JIM,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Mississippi  on  August 06, 2021
    Use in my Street Rod, ZZ-4 increased oil pressure at idle some 15 lbs. Have previously used in a Corvette that I road raced, great product. After engine tear down and really beating on the car engine 4000-5500RPM's for some 15 races no bearing wear what so ever dont wasted your $$ on other products, firm believer in AMSOIL
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Works great
    By  LARRY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Georgia   on  August 03, 2021
    Works great in my John Deere commercial zero turn mower
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Best oil I’ve used
    By  MAURICE,  a  Verified Buyer  on  July 28, 2021
    Ordered a case of oil, got it within a couple days. Everything was in good condition and oil made everything run smooth.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    I use the Z-Rod in my 70s VW super beetle
    By  CONSTANTINE,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Virginia   on  June 26, 2021
    I put Amsoil in everything I have, from my cars , truck, motorcycles, dirt bike, Boat, side by side, ATV and yard equipment. They even sell gun oil!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 4 star rating
    z rod oil
    By  JIM,  a  Verified Buyer  on  June 03, 2021
    have not been using enough to rate product. sorry
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Zrod 20W-50
    By  LARRY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Florida   on  June 03, 2021
    Works great in my 25 year old Hydraulic flat tappet 360 ! 236,000 and counting, runs awesome !
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Case of 20-50 ZRod Motor Oil
    By  DAVID,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Buckeye, AZ  on  May 25, 2021
    I run this oil in my older daily driver because of the high amount of ZDDP in this oil. Great product with great shipping department. I ordered on a Wednesday, and I had my oil on Friday!!!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great for flat tappet engines, old American engines
    By  KEVIN E,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Clayton, NC  on  April 21, 2021
    With the higher amount of Zinc additives (ZDDP ), this oil is a "must use" for engines with flat tappets.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?