Skip to Main Content
Shop by Vehicle

Customer Ratings & Reviews

AMSOIL Z-ROD® 10W-30 100% Synthetic Motor Oil

Product code : ZRTQT-EA

4.9 star rating Read 116 reviews

Customer Rating

4.9

88% would recommend

  • 5 110
  • 4 6
  • 3 0
  • 2 0
  • 1 0

AMSOIL Z-ROD® 10W-30 100% Synthetic Motor Oil

4.9 star rating Based on 116 reviews
  • 5 star rating
    yes
    By  LARRY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  TX  on  February 13, 2024
    I've been using this oil for several years now and it has always performed great. At times I abuse my engine with heavy towing and I have always been satisfied with the protection it gives. Good stuff---
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Classic Cars
    By  MARK,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Buffalo   on  January 23, 2024
    Using on my 1963 Buick Skylark. Needed Earl Wiff Some ZiNK. In it. And eYe Noticed that it was Smooth Right after the oil change... i could notice a difference, seemed Smooth... hard to explain but I feel it does a little smother right after an earl change. Best oil for your Flat Tappett Cam.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Z-ROD motor oil
    By  AL,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Arkansas  on  January 08, 2024
    In the early days when I was building custom cars and street rods there weren't roller camshafts so the oil had ingredients to protect flat tappet camshafts, along came Catalytic converters so oil companies removed the Zink & Phosphorus from their oil as they destroyed Catalytic Converters!!!!!! Most all classic cars restored don't have a Catalytic Converter, but need an oil with Zink & Phosphorus tp protect there camshafts during break-in and after that as well!!! Z-Rod has these ingredients in it!!!!!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Using this for the winter storage months
    By  Jack ,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Upstate NY  on  December 31, 2023
    I decided to use this for the winter storage months. Will be using the AMSOIL regular synthetic for the warmer driving months.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    What's in your oil?
    By  LOUIS,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Longwood, FL  on  December 27, 2023
    I'm amazed at how many car guys still don't know this. Conventional motor oil formulation has changed alot over the years. Do you wonder why your performance flat tappet is history? It's not the cam. The high pressure scrub requires ZINC to keep from murdering your valve train components. Specifically camshafts and valve lifters. That's why we use Z-Rod in all of our non-roller profile applications !!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Muscle Car Motor Oil
    By  GREG,  a  Verified Buyer  from  San Diego  on  December 24, 2023
    I have a numbers matching 1969 Chevy Nova with a 396 CID engine with 375HP. That motor from the factory has solid lifters. Since car manufacturers stopped using solid lifters over 40 years ago the motor oils available today don't have enough Zinc Phosphorous to properly lubricate that kind of engine. My car is a street car, not a race car, and Z-Rod fills the bill for that better than any other oil I have found.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    The only oil that quiets 1.6L Miata lifters
    By  DAVE,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Massachusetts  on  November 27, 2023
    I own a summer/track HPDE 1.6L Miata. I tried all the major brands of oil. The harder I drove, the louder the lifters would get. Even driving on the interstate. About 10 years ago I went to the PRI show in Indy. And had a nice conversation at the Amsoil booth with a very knowledgeable gentleman, explaining my situation. Since this car is driven hard and at high RPM, he suggested Z-ROD. Quieted it right down. No more lifter noise, even at startup. The oil analysis always come back great. Very low wear numbers. I could not be happier with Z-ROD 10W-30 in the Miata. Still on the original lifters. As far as I am concerned, noise equals wear. Where all the majors failed to quiet it down Z-ROD did the job. I will never use anything else in it.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Run it
    By  CHRISTOPHER,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Alaska  on  November 26, 2023
    Perfect for running in your performance motors that require that extra protection.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    BEST OIL!!!
    By  CHRISTIAN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Sinking Spring, Pa.  on  October 01, 2023
    Can always find what I want and have it delivered LIGHTNING FAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A+++++++++++++++ 10 OUT OF 10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AMSOIL IS SECOND TO NON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Was shipped fast and always a great oil
    By  DANIEL,  a  Verified Buyer  from  union city Pennsylvania   on  September 20, 2023
    Exactly what you would expect from amsoil. Best oil on the planet and my flat tappet cam in my sbc is loving it
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Best i have found
    By  JAMES,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Lexington  on  September 17, 2023
    2 classic chevy trucks and a Harley i would not chance another oil. Amsoil has been my go to for 30+ years.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Z rod
    By  KODY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Bloomfield Iowa   on  August 03, 2023
    Ever since making the switch in my small block I run it in all flat Tappet cam shaft motors
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    z-rod oil
    By  JOHN,  a  Verified Buyer  on  July 31, 2023
    prompt delivery (next day)...excellent product
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 4 star rating
    Z rod
    By  THOMAS,  a  Verified Buyer  on  July 30, 2023
    The oil is great, just didn't receive my added gift for my order.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Corvairs love it
    By  Greenbrier ,  a  Verified Buyer  from  NC  on  July 29, 2023
    I’ve tired quite a few different oils in my Corvair engine and this is the one it likes best. Just did 1200 miles on the HotRod Powertour and she didn’t burn a drop. The engine is a 110HP air cooled flat six out of a Monza 900. I run it in a Greenbrier. You have a Corvair? Try ZRod 10-30 and see for yourself. Peace
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Classic Car
    By  JAY,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Louisiana  on  July 24, 2023
    I have a 79 Firebird with a Pontiac 400. Motor has a roller cam, lifters and rockers. This is the only oil on the markert I trust for this car. These old engines need the high zinc content, they are not like modern engines, Motor makes about 400 hp. One trip we went over a bridge and when we stopped in traffic the car began to overheat bad. Got so hot the top radiator hose blew up, shooting 300 deg antifreeze everywhere. I told my wife its a good thing I have Amsoil in it or the motor would have been ruined. Fixed the overheating issue the car runs perfect. Thank you Amsoil.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Love how it makes my car run smoothly !
    By  CAMILO,  a  Verified Buyer  on  July 01, 2023
    Love it !!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Flat tappet saver
    By  JAMES,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Lexington  on  June 18, 2023
    I did not want to hunt down zinc and a good additive package so Amsoil it is. Good performance and i am not wondering when my flat tappet cam will get wiped out...
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Z-Rod 10w-30
    By  RICHARD,  a  Verified Buyer  from  South Milwaukee  on  May 17, 2023
    Been using for years motor runs great
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Best Oil
    By  KEITH,  a  Verified Buyer  from  East Tennessee  on  April 02, 2023
    I have streetrods and antique cars. Z-Rod is a life saver in these older flat tappet engines. Wouldn't use anything else.
    Was this review helpful?