Skip to Main Content
Shop by Vehicle

Customer Ratings & Reviews

AMSOIL Heavy-Duty Metal Protector

Product code : AMHSC-EA

4.8 star rating Read 47 reviews

Customer Rating

4.8

89% would recommend

  • 5 41
  • 4 4
  • 3 0
  • 2 1
  • 1 1

AMSOIL Heavy-Duty Metal Protector

4.8 star rating Based on 47 reviews
  • 5 star rating
    Excellent product
    By  AJ,  a  Verified Buyer  on  March 21, 2024
    I absolutely love this product. Definitely don’t put it anywhere where you don’t want to see it. It has to be hand scrubbed to get it off if you get some on your vehicle paint or things like that. That being said it definitely sticks and last for long periods of time. The only bad I have to say. Is every can I have used the nozzle has leaked.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Amsoil MP HD Heavy Duty Metal Protector
    By  MARK,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Austin, TX  on  February 21, 2024
    What can I say about this. Nothing bad. It used to be labeled, but not branded as "Motorcycle Chain Lube" in addition to heavy duty metal protector. I can see how this could work well for a motorcycle chain. This dries out to a waxy consistency, like "clean grease". I use it for garage door tracks, things like that. You spray it on and it does not move much. Dries and you are good to go. I have used it on some old car seat spring assemblies as well, and think that the automakers used something like this for that and seat tracks which I have done as well. Can't remember the name now, but remember that it is very similar to the stuff the military used to use to store any kind of metal weapon, long term. Starts with a C. This MP HD stuff I believe is the same.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 4 star rating
    Life extending
    By  MARK,  a  Verified Buyer  from  MA  on  February 07, 2024
    As anyone who lives in New England knows, winters mean salty roads. This product does a good job of holding the salt and resulting rust at bay. My truck has plowed and been driven in every snow storm since 2005 and is holding up remarkably well. Certainly not rust free but it is in far better shape than most its age and mileage (almost 300k) due in large part to MP hd. I have used other products during the life of this truck but this one stands up the best.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great Coating
    By  TODD,  a  Verified Buyer  from  West Virginia   on  December 12, 2023
    I purchased this to use as a undercoating on my 2017 Tundra. It leaves a very nice finish on the metal. Very pleased with it.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 4 star rating
    So far so good 👍
    By  MATT,  a  Verified Buyer  from  New Hampshire  on  December 09, 2023
    I live in the northeast and winter is hard on vehicles, I use this product as an undercoating on my truck, it applies clear on metal, like the frame of the truck, seems to have a great shield against the salt and dirt on the roads
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    HD metal protector has served me well
    By  Loyd,  a  Verified Buyer  from  AR  on  October 12, 2023
    This stuff has worked better than anything else I've used in the past 12 years. Just a little spritz on adjustment screws or linkages once or twice a year works wonders!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great Product
    By  MARK,  a  Verified Buyer  from  New England  on  October 06, 2023
    Purchased this as an alternative to another product I have used for some time. The MPhd covers better and, more importantly, has staying power. finish is very durable so far.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great stuff but.........
    By  BRYAN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Indiana  on  October 01, 2023
    The only two cans of these I've ever used ran out of aerosol. One was half full and the other about a quarter full in 3-4 weeks from first use. That being said, I still bought two more cans because I like this stuff. Other brands you spray and the product only sticks where you spray it, this stuff comes out in a liquid form and finds its way to all the crack and crevices where it later dries completely or to a tacky feel depending on how much you use making it great for automotive use.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great Product
    By  shelby,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Central Florida   on  September 03, 2023
    Just started using HD Metal Protector & it’s hands down better than what I’ve been using, can see the coating still on bare metal & no rust!
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great for undercoating and rust prevention.
    By  DON,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Michigan   on  July 20, 2023
    This is a great product that seems to have a lot of different uses. I use the heavy duty metal protector as a lasting lube for hiem joints and as an undercoating for my Jeep’s frame and underbody to protect against road salt in the winter. Great stuff.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Unreal
    By  SPC,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Chicago Illinois   on  July 04, 2023
    You name it I've tried it when it comes to products that claim they prevent rust or stop rust and some are good don't get me wrong I'm talking major brand names to Independent chemical companies and I figured I'd give Amsoil a try and I literally put it on existing rust and it stopped the rust not for like a week or a month but permanently and I did the underneath of my Toyota 4Runner from front to back and is anybody knows in the Rust Belt most products don't hold up this not only holds up but I'm just sorry I didn't find it years ago Amsoil really is the best I admit this is the first product I've ever used from them but now that I've seen what this can do I'm going to try the other products too.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Superb Protection in salt water
    By  STEVE,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Tarpon Springs   on  June 30, 2023
    Great quality product that protects all of my wave runner’s operating systems and does not easily wear off.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Awesome stuff
    By  MATT,  a  Verified Buyer  on  June 26, 2023
    I use this stuff on plow moldboards to keep them from rusting. It has many other uses around the farm
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    protectant
    By  CALVIN,  a  Verified Buyer  from  S.Fl.  on  May 25, 2023
    This stuff should be mandatory in this humid salty environment. It works great.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Best Underside Deck Coating for Mowers
    By  KLINT,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Winchester, KY  on  May 09, 2023
    I spray this stuff on the underside of my mower decks - when brand new and or really scraped. It seems to minimize the amount of grass buildup and definitely minimizes rust. Great product - but wear gloves!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Heavy duty metal protector
    By  SETH,  a  Verified Buyer  from  WI  on  April 15, 2023
    It works great used it for some garage items and parts around the house.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    It’s amazing
    By  RON,  a  Verified Buyer  from  Salida colorado  on  March 11, 2023
    It soaks into the metal fast and takes the rusty look away..
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Great product but overpriced
    By  PAUL,  a  Verified Buyer  on  February 19, 2023
    All amsoils products are great , unfortunately prices have doubled in the last two years!
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Top Notch Metal Protection
    By  MICHAEL,  a  Verified Buyer  from  New Jersey  on  February 12, 2023
    Having been using the entire range of Amsoil products for my vehicles and motors for a very long time. Purchased a new 23 Toyota Tundra recently and wanted to help protect the frame/components from the Northeast winter salt. Applied MPHD to the entire underside of the vehicle, simple process overall and when dried it created a nice barrier from all contaminants. Truck has been driven in snow/salted roads and after being washed all exposed metal still looks brand new, highly recommend this product.
    Bottom Line
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Was this review helpful?
  • 5 star rating
    Awesome product!
    By  DAVID,  a  Verified Buyer  from  St Louis  on  February 07, 2023
    I would recommend to anyone who wants to DIY rustproof their car, truck or anything else that will rust. Plus it goes a long way. I did my Yukon XL with less than 2 cans.
    Was this review helpful?